top of page

Setting the Stage

This week was mostly spent prepping for the rehearsal process. I printed out scripts for everybody and made sure that there were no errors in the scripts. I sent out the cast list to my cast members and made sure that everybody was on the same page. I wanted to ensure that everybody knew what obligations they would have. I wouldn’t want somebody to think of this as a way to hang out with friends or an optional rehearsal, when it is way more serious than that. I also worked on figuring out a rehearsal location for after the first zoom rehearsal. I considered renting out the theatre that we will be performing in to rehearse at, but I also know that that would be costly. I also considered just rehearsing in my backyard, it is spacious and covid safe, but considering that Texas is about to have some interesting weather, that may need to serve as more of a backup plan. I am hoping to have our first rehearsal on Zoom this week. It will only be a read through, where everyone gets acquainted with the script and show. We also will be discussing purpose and characters as well as choices and motivations. It will pretty much be an introductory session that will also help everyone understand the show and process a lot better. I think that this first rehearsal will be very pivotal in determining how the rest of the process goes, as it is a foundation to build off of. Not all directors do this, but I find it very beneficial.

Recent Posts

See All

Surviving the Snow

With the intensity of the snowstorm, I did have to push back the first rehearsal of my show. Even though the rehearsal was over Zoom, many people lost power and also lost connection. Even I struggled

Back to Business

I have had an incredibly busy week. To be completely honest, I went through some personal struggles in the past few weeks, and so my final product has slipped through the cracks a bit. This past week

Considering my Concerns

This week it finally hit me that I am going to be directing and producing my own original show. I know that I have been planning for this since the beginning of my ISM journey, I guess it was more of

bottom of page