top of page

Starting My Script

November 9th


This week I finally had the surge of inspiration that I needed to begin my writing process. I heard a line in my head and decided to run with it. After I began writing, I could not tear myself away from the computer. I wrote pages upon pages of work and then sent it to several friends so they could read it and tell me their opinions. Everybody told me that my writing fit my personality and that my voice really shined through in it. They could tell I wrote it. I think that is such a huge compliment as a persons voice is their biggest asset. I ended up completing a rough draft of one of my five scenes. I chose to do the climactic scene first as it was the one I felt most inclined to do and I felt that doing it first might inspire some other scenes. Additionally I felt that the most character reveal happened in the climactic scene and so I should know my characters at their worst before writing them at their best.


The push I needed to really get the ball rolling was my interview with Erin Ryan Burdette. She told me I needed to set times to work but also to work when my creativity was peaking. I decided to follow her advice and give myself deadlines. Now that I have both the foundation of my work and a good starting point, I think I am on the right path to writing my play.

Recent Posts

See All

Surviving the Snow

With the intensity of the snowstorm, I did have to push back the first rehearsal of my show. Even though the rehearsal was over Zoom, many people lost power and also lost connection. Even I struggled

Setting the Stage

This week was mostly spent prepping for the rehearsal process. I printed out scripts for everybody and made sure that there were no errors in the scripts. I sent out the cast list to my cast members a

Back to Business

I have had an incredibly busy week. To be completely honest, I went through some personal struggles in the past few weeks, and so my final product has slipped through the cracks a bit. This past week

bottom of page