top of page

Touching Up My Text

December 1st

This has probably been my most productive week so far. Over the course of the week, I have finished my play, revised it, had a group read it and give notes, and sent out a casting call invitation so that people would gain interest. Finishing the play was a bit difficult, as I had no clue how I wanted it to wrap up nor what message needed to be sent. I knew that I didn’t want a sally ending wrapped in a nice little bow. I also knew that I still wanted a message that people would get to draw from the story. This was why it was so difficult to find the perfect ending. My sister and I tried es out every ending imaginable on the play, and eventually one fit enough to satisfy me. But I did not just want to be satisfied, I wanted to be amused. Thus I brought the script to a few more people for more opinions and I finally decided that I can make the ending both powerful and comedic. It does not have to be one or the other. I then added many stage directions to the play so that it was not so confusing or difficult to direct. I did not think that through before as I assumed I would be directing it, which I will. Still, somebody could direct it after its debut, so the movements and staging needs to be clear.

Recent Posts

See All

Surviving the Snow

With the intensity of the snowstorm, I did have to push back the first rehearsal of my show. Even though the rehearsal was over Zoom, many people lost power and also lost connection. Even I struggled

Setting the Stage

This week was mostly spent prepping for the rehearsal process. I printed out scripts for everybody and made sure that there were no errors in the scripts. I sent out the cast list to my cast members a

Back to Business

I have had an incredibly busy week. To be completely honest, I went through some personal struggles in the past few weeks, and so my final product has slipped through the cracks a bit. This past week

bottom of page